Home » Movies » Suicide Squad

Suicide Squad

Let me start by saying DC comic universe it not my usual preference. The only exceptions I make are their television shows Smallville, The Flash, and Gotham. Otherwise, I avoid DC universe movies. Way too much angst with very little to no humor injected into the script. I need a good balance of humor and angst in my superhero or anti-hero movies. My preference goes towards DC universe’s TV shows.

Suicide Squad

There has been much hype leading up to Suicide Squad’s film release on August 5, 2016. For the most part, I hardly cared much for this DC movie. I was aware Jared Leto, lead singer of Thirty Seconds to Mars, was cast in the role of the Joker. Leto garnered considerable press coverage for it. Despite his awards for Dallas Buyer Club, Jared will now become synonymous known for playing the Joker.

Jared Leto_Joker

Jared Leto’s portroyal of the infamous Joker received mixed reviews. In my opinion, Leto brilliantly portrayed this villainous character.  Bad-ass. Charmingly wicked. Enigmatically charismatic. I love how the Joker was depicted as a modern-day gangster of Gotham. I cannot deny that I was kinda attracted to this character. The Joker wasn’t part of Amanda Waller’s Task Force X. Yet, he still fits into Suicide Squad’s overall plot arc. Within the film’s storyline, his appearances basically revolved around Harley Quinn’s character.

Some things in Suicide Squad really impressed me. First, the fascinating development of Harley Quinn/ Joker romance sub-plot arc was well implemented. Harley Quinn is the product of Joker’s screwed-up experiments in Arkham Asylum. How long did it take for the drastic transformation from psychiatrist Dr. Harleen Quinzel to psychotic Harley Quinn? The movie didn’t quite clarify this time span. Not that is a big deal. I’m just curious. Her obsession and infatuation morphed into an unhealthy, co-dependent romantic relationship with the Joker. Clearly, he has no remorse about emotionally manipulating Harley Quinn to be his lover and accomplice in crime. But I don’t think the Joker is completely heartless. He does have some convoluted emotional connection with Harley to keep her by his side. I didn’t expect to get tad emotional during some of the Harley/Joker scenes. The Joker/ Harley Quinn romance sub-plot was compellingly convincing. Margot Robbie & Jared Leto had great on-screen chemistry.

Second, the conversational interaction between the main characters added a good balance of dark humor. I especially enjoyed the interactions between Harley Quinn and Deadshot. Although, Killer Croc and Captain Boomerang offered some moments of humor. The element of dark humor is what sets Suicide Squad apart from other DC universe movies.

Third, the main characters were developed well throughout the film. The flashback sequences fluidly meshed with the present day sequences. We were given the most background information about Harley Quinn, Deadshot, and Diablo. Though, the backgrounds of Killer Croc, Katana, and Captain Boomerang could have been explored a bit more. Some of Task Force X’s “bad guys” had so much potential yet had weak character development. I’m really curious how Killer Croc acquired his fierce reptilian appearance. I was pleasantly surprised with Rick Flag’s development. Being part of Task Force X, Flag monitors the six criminally insane team members for his superior, Amanda Waller. So he is the only “good” guy among the main characters. His “holier than thou” self-righteous mentality slowly fades away throughout the movie. Sadly, Dr. June Moone had the worst character development. This character had so much potential with the whole split personality aspect. It’s obvious how June strongly resists the Enchantress. In fact, she avoided invoking the sorceress’s spirit unless the circumstance truly warranted it. Enchantress was your stereotypical villain. The usual motive of taking over the world so people fear and quiver at their immense power. Villains want weak, puny humans to worship them. If not they’ll destroy all of humanity. In my opinion, the June Moone/Enchantress conflicting natures could have been better fleshed out.

Suicide Squad_The Album

Fourth, the song selection for the movie’s soundtrack enhanced the cinematic experience. Each of the songs appropriately matched the mood of the scenes. Some of the songs blur the line between pop, techno, and rap genres. But there are some curve-ball songs thrown in. “Bohemian Rhapsody”, “Slippin’ into Darkness”, “I Started a Joke”, “Heathens”, and “Fortunate Son” are exceptions. It is great to heard rock genre music in movie soundtracks. I’m glad Suicide Squad soundtrack incorporated different music genres. This is quite refreshing. Not many movie soundtracks have song tracks from various genres.

In a previous blog post, I’ve mentioned about my love for Panic! at the Disco. The movie soundtrack featured Panic! at the Disco’s cover of “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen. Although, the film includes the original version of “Bohemian Rhapsody”. I’m sure it wasn’t cheap to buy the rights of this famous Queen song. That’s probably why the original song isn’t featured on the soundtrack. Panic! at the Disco kept the integrity of the song’s tune yet still inject their own unique twist on this classic rock song.

Random fun fact: Panic! at the Disco’s music has many classic rock influences including Queen. I saw Panic! at the Disco live in concert back in August 2014 and September 2015. A cover of “Bohemian Rhapsody” is part of their concert setlist.  I think I prefer the live version slightly more than the recorded version. Although, the live and recorded versions of this Queen song are equally awesome in their own ways.

“Professional” critics have been severely harsh about Suicide Squad and its soundtrack. Basically I ignore critic reviews about movies, music, and TV shows. Critics are human too. Human beings will always have bias of some sort. This is why I refuse to let “professional” critics shape my movie experience. Only I will decide whether or not I liked something. Usually I disagree with critics reviews anyway.

Originally, I wasn’t planning on even seeing Suicide Squad in theaters. I don’t normally care much for DC universe films. Yet, the TV spot trailers piqued my curiosity. I didn’t know what to expect with this movie. My friend and I went to see Suicide Squad on August 5th in standard format. (Random side note: I hardly watch movies in digital 3D or IMAX 3D formats. There must a damn good reason I pay more for those formats. I’m not an avid DC fan so I saw no valid reason pay additional for 3D movie format.) Not surprisingly the movie theater was packed to almost full capacity. It was opening day.

For some reason, I convinced myself that Suicide Squad was rated R. So I was mentally prepared for content and profanity associated with R rating. Only halfway through the movie, it dawned on me that Suicide Squad was only PG-13. Recent interviews revealed director, David Ayer, had two version of Suicide Squad: PG-13 and R rated movie. I’m actually glad it wound up being PG-13.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed Suicide Squad. The movie has a dark, gritty theme but still conveys a wide range of emotions. I actually teared up a bit at some of the heart-wrenching scenes. The talented cast ensemble, diverse music selection, and visual style enhanced the cinematic experience.  In the end, my curiosity paid off. Suicide Squad was a very entertaining anti-hero DC universe film.

[Somewhat related side-note: Ted Whittall plays the role of Admiral Olsen in Suicide Squad film. CW’s Smallville has subtly references Suicide Squad in few episodes in season 9 and 10. Ironically, Mr. Whittall formerly portrayed the recurring guest role of Rick Flag in Smallville Season 10.]

One thought on “Suicide Squad

  1. Pingback: Thirty Seconds To Mars | Fantastically Nerdy

Leave a Reply

